New Blogging Philosophy

I hope to blog more regularly going forward. Over the last six to seven months, I have been writing and posting 1-2 articles per week on JD Supra. These articles are usually 1500-2000 words each. It is tough and a grind to come up with fresh and new content each week across multiple platforms while trying to making a living. Additionally, I published 4-6 different articles( 5-7,000 words each) last year in tax periodicals. I have as many people looking (I did not say reading) my stuff on JD Supra in a month as I had view my blog in a year.

Meanwhile back at the ranch, I am trying to navigate my way through social media. The books are still sitting on my desk. I am like anyone else trying to build my social media presence. I was happy and oblivious until my friend Charlie Garcia told me about all these different things – Empire Avenue; Klout Score. He has a Klout score of 82 which makes him online presence at the same level as media heavy weights. Plus he has a one million Twitter followers.

I was willing to accept the fact that I was Old School and a “Has Been” until I saw that Yoko Ono (fruitcake that she is) with 3.5 million followers on Twitter. She tweets such wisdom as “The wind blows through the trees”. After that, the gloves were off. Now the challenge is like the challenge to deadlift 600 or bench 400 or squat 500. It might be argued that Yoko’s tweets are better than my tweets. I am still looking for my personality and I can’t seem to find it anywhere. I am up to 700 versus her 3.5 million. As Francis Scott Key said (or maybe it was Chico Escuela said)- I have not yet begun to fight! (Carajo! – that was Chico’s contribution to the quote).

So my new thinking is trying to become New School is to blog frequently while publishing once or twice per week on JD Supra and a few times per year in tax periodicals. I am thinking that this will give the me the oppty to write more frequently in smaller soundbites.

Stay tuned! I will contunue to p[ost my new articles on the blog but write on alof of other things as well. I am excited about a few things in the tax world – the same old stuff private placement insurance; captives, and Puerto Rico.

 

 

About gerrynowotny

I am a tax and estate planning attorney with a JD and LL.M in estate planning from the Univesity of Miami School of Law. I have worked in the life insurance industry for twenty three years and the last eleven in private placement life insurance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

