Hello Again!

It has been awhile since my last post. In the meantime, I have been feeding my JD Supra site with new articles three-four times per month on a variety of topics. I am still writing and thinking about private placement insurance solutions. I think that the use of these products will proliferate for use by foreign investors making inbound investments into the U.S.. I am still writing and thinking about Puerto Rico a lot. I happen to think that this is a great solution. It may not be for everyone but it is for someone. This is a great solution for any American – investor or business owner – trying to escape the sharp claws of taxation.

I have gotten a steady stream of calls from Californians. Facetiously, I remind them that they have “Spanish” people in the PR too. I asked the Puerto Rican Government officials if one of the requirements of Puerto Rican residency is the ability to sing “En Mi Viejo San Juan” in Spanish with no accent. All verses. It is a beautiful song and second national anthem. Any place that has a anthem like that is a place to live!

The great “Sonero” Cheo Feliciano who enjoyed great success first singing Latin Boogaloo (I like it Like That!) with Joe Cuba and then had his best run during the Fania All Stars era. I am still irritated by the comments of Howard Stern who mocked the passing of Tito Puente a number of years ago. I was fortunate to see him play with Celia Cruz and Johnny Pacheco and his black flute in the Bronx no less. Tito had more talent in his “pinky” than all of the heavy metal bands that Howard Stern promotes put together. Speaking of great drummers, I watched Santana’s concert in Guadalajara on HBO Latino. His new wife Cindy Blackman Santana is an outstanding drummer in the tradition of Pete Escovedo (Sheila E’s Dad).

The last article that I posted on JD supra – Mi Casa es Su Casa, brings up an issue which I believe that every foreigner who owns a house in the USA must face. Many foreigners may be sitting on a ticking time bomb and an opportunity to know their Tio Samuel on a more intimate basis. Check it out on JD Supra. The link http://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/mi-casa-es-su-casa-planning-considera-89012/.

It’s ironic that most foreigners except for the Europeans and Asians have a blatant disregard for tax authorities in their own countries and underestimate the power of the IRS. I have had very wealthy Americans tell me that while they would not welcome the FBI kicking down there door, they would rather deal with the FBI versus the IRS.

We will see each other online. Do not forget to count your blessings today – You have a roof over your head; food on the table along with a few extra pounds; and friends and family that tolerate you most of the time.

About gerrynowotny

I am a tax and estate planning attorney with a JD and LL.M in estate planning from the Univesity of Miami School of Law. I have worked in the life insurance industry for twenty three years and the last eleven in private placement life insurance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

